The Yoga Challenge, COMPLETED!!!

The challenge…

Bye, bye March…  Throughout the month of March I challenged myself to add flexibility training to my fitness routine by doing yoga for at least 3 hours a week.  With an early 15 minute routine this morning I have successfully completed my challenge! After a month of regularly doing yoga I am totally hooked and in love!

I am not quite to this level but one day:)

(photo credit: google)

How the challenge began…

In the past I tried to do yoga either by following a sequence online or watching a video but it was always so boring.  I strongly disliked it and was sure yoga was not for me!! Well a little over a month ago I decided to give it another go. This time I skipped the dvds & google searches and went to a yoga class at our gym, let me tell you it was love at first sight pose.  I give all the credit to my instructor, she is amazing by keeping things fresh and challenging.

Where will I go from here…

The only negative aspect of my yoga experience is that I am limited to the type of yoga classes I can attend.  Our gym only has Vinyasa and Hatha yoga (and I have yet to find another yoga studio in the our town) but there are other styles of yoga I am very interested in trying. I guess I will just have to wait a few months, then join a yoga studio the moment we get home!

The first class I am signing up for is anti-gravity yoga!  This simply looks awesome and cannot wait to try!!!

(photo credit: FitspoBlog)

(photo credit: Tender Shoots Wellness)

(photo credit: refinery29)

(photo credit: secondact)

I also would like to try bikram yoga & hot yoga.  My sister-in-law raves about bikram yoga, so it is definietly on my to do list!!

(photo credit: Bikram Yoga Commercial Drive)

Last but not least, I am praying that we get jobs near water so I can add Stand UP Paddle (SUP) Yoga to my routine!

(photo credit: flickr)

(photo credit: athleta)

(photo credit: paddleboarding)

If you are new to the world of yoga I would love to hear about your journey and experiences!

Leave a Reply

