50 Shades of……Pink

Recently I have been trying to figure out what to put above the couch in our living room.  After weeks of searching I could still not find anything.  Then I stumbled upon the following pictures and decided I would just make it myself:)

(click photos for sources)

So here is my version of Ombre art:)  It is not perfect but as someone with zero painting/drawing ability I am pretty satisfied with my final product.  Here it is:

Here is how I made it:

#1. Bought my supplies.

– acrylic paint (bottle of main color choice & one bottle of white paint)

-canvas (size of choice) – mine was already covered in gesso so I did not need to prep anything.

-paint brushes

-glass of water & paper towel – for cleaning brush between strokes

-masking tape – I taped off my edges so I had some guideline for my strokes

#2. Mixed colors

As I mixed my paints I tested the colors on a spare piece of paper. I would definitely suggest doing this as I found it different to get my colors right. 

#3. Start painting – Since my canvas was quite large and I was having a hard time mixing colors, I decided to have my colors mirror each other. To do this I started on the outside and moved inward.  Luckily, I had the exact amount of needed colors:)

#4. Let dry

#5. Hang it up and enjoy your beautiful work! – we just used some dry wall screws

One response to “50 Shades of……Pink

  1. Pingback: The House of Kay | airplanesandtreadmills

Leave a Reply

