Race Recap: White Rock New Year’s 5 Miler

Day 1: White Rock New Year’s 5 Miler

This morning Jordan and I started the year off with a nice 5 miler.  We woke up early and drove up to Dallas for the race.  My time goal was sub 50 minutes & Jordan’s was sub 40.

Pre Race

IMG_4125Jordan and I at 7 this morning.  I am so in love with my new jacket (you may recognize it from the Team USA athletes in London).

IMG_4128First view of Dallas from the car window.

IMG_4132The start & finish area
IMG_4133My bib & Spi Belt.

IMG_4136It was freezing so Jordan and I were jumping around trying to keep warm.

IMG_4139A little pre-race photo.

The Race

I don’t have any pictures of the actual race but here is a quick overview.

The Course: Out & back, along a paved path through the park.  It was well marked.  The only negative thing was the few patches of mud on the pavement.  I either ran around it on the grass or cautiously slowed down & ran through it.

Aid Stations:  2 aid stations with water & gatorade {1st Station – around the 2 mile marker.  2nd Station – around the 3 mile marker}.  Personally, this was exactly what I needed.

Participants: The online results state that 304 runners finished.  I thought this was the perfect number for these particular race.  The path was quite narrow and any more people would have been too crowded.

Pacing: Pacing always proves to be the hardest aspect of a race for me.  I did not have my new toy {see below} for the race this morning. To pace myself I checked my overall time at each mile marker.  I do not remember my exact splits but I believe it was something like: 11, 21, 31, 40, 49.

Post Race

Across the finish line there were jugs of water, gatorade, & mimosas.  As well as bananas, soda, & beer.  I opted for some gatorade & a banana.

IMG_4154

IMG_4153

Alcohol, the perfect way to hydrate after a 5 mile run…{#sarcasm}…hahaha

The Results

time: 49:24.76 | pace: 9:52 | place: 5th in my age group

I did it, sub 50 minutes!!!

IMG_4160 Check it out! We both meet our time goals and also placed in our age groups.  Jordan {The} – 2nd & Me {Janelle Kay} – 5th.

IMG_4164My champagne flute I got for placing. 

IMG_4169Jordan with his 2nd place flute!

IMG_4170Jordy & Me

IMG_4171My cheerleader, Kyle! 

Race Gear

IMG_4190

Besides the awesome flute I also go this long sleeve tech race shirt.  The body fits well but the arms are a bit short.  Oh well, it will still serve it’s purpose and be great running gear.  Also, I am not a huge fan of the design.  Especially after seeing some runners wearing last year’s gear.  

Overall

I personally felt great.  Not quite as good as my 4.59 {8:57ish/m} run a few weeks ago but still pretty amazing.  This was my first real run in about a week and a half (due to all the traveling).  I am pretty confident that I can shave a few minutes off of my time for future 5 miler races.

I would definitely run this race again. It was a great size & course and I cannot think of a better way to start off the year.  For more info click here.

Randomness

IMG_4151IMG_4147Loving my Team USA jacket!! 

IMG_4143More Team USA gear! 

Also, check out what I bought today…  IMG_4174 IMG_4172 IMG_4175

So excited to take this thing out for a run tomorrow!  I was able to get it at a discounted price because I had a Nike VIP coupon! Keep your eyes out, product review soon to follow!

Daily Sweat 365: Day 1 | 5 miles | 50 push ups

How did you kick off your New Year???

One response to “Race Recap: White Rock New Year’s 5 Miler

  1. Pingback: DIY: Race Bib & Medal Display | airplanesandtreadmills

Leave a Reply

