My Food Revolution

Just a warning this is gonna be a looong post:)

Wow it feels like forever since I wrote a proper post. Life has been a bit crazy the last few months, a wedding, vacation in Texas, fun in Seattle, and a royal baby later things have finally settled down a bit and I can get back to blogging.

Green Smoothie Power

No Dairy+ no Refined Sugar Recap

So, remember about 3 months ago when I started a no dairy or refined sugar challenge. Well this is finally the recap post! Yea, I am a bit embarrassed to admit that this post is about 6 weeks overdue. Yikes! Well let’s dig in…

no milk and sugar

How it started? Mid-spring Kirsi asked me if I was interested in going on a 6 week no diary and no sugar “cleanse.” I was desperately wanting to revamp the way I ate and was ready to take the next step toward becoming vegan, so I jumped on board. The ultimate goal was to create  sustainable changes in my diet.

How to make sustainable changes? I credit the knowledge learned from the following videos and clips as the single most important factor for successfully altering my diet. I am a firm believer that the most important part of creating lasting change is education.  Without really understanding the following concepts I doubt I would have had the same conviction to continue with this new lifestyle.

Jaime Oliver is my HERO! This guy is amazing and doing so much good for our world.

Hungry for Change (Netflix link)

Vegecated (Netflix link)

I also felt like in order to make lasting changes I needed to learn how to create healthy alternatives. I thought that if I was able to indulge in an alternate treat, I would be less likely to relapse back to the “real” thing. So far this philosophy has worked great!

No Bake Vegan Peanut Butter Cups.jpg

Vegan No Bake Peanut Butter Cup

My six week journey. At the beginning, six weeks seemed like forever. However, the time really flew by. I think because I was educated about a new way of eating, embarking on the challenge with friends, and eating tasty alternatives I didn’t really hit any road blocks and surprisingly found it pretty easy to keep on track. However, without these vital factors, I would have been back at square one the moment 6 weeks was up.  Now before I make it sound like all of these changes happened over just 6 weeks, I think it is important to reflect on how my diet transformation really started about 6 years ago, when I first became seriously interested in health and fitness. So if you are just starting out and are getting a little discouraged, don’t worry it is a process and journey!

Healthy Shopping Cart

My shopping cart today: fruits, veggies, & almond milk.

(If you want to see everything I ate for the first 4.5 weeks, just click here.)

How my life has changed? I can proudly say that this challenged has completely changed my dietary lifestyle. In the past, as soon as one of my challenges ended I was back at the beginning. This time I was determined to make lasting changes and I can honestly say I have.  Of course I would be lying if I said I didn’t crave the tasty foods I have been accustomed to the past 25 years but I have found other ways to satisfy my appetite. And I will even admit that sometimes I give in but that is definitely the exception not that norm:)

So what’s the next challenge? Can you say, Vitamix?!?!? After almost a year of setting aside a little bit a money and a few generous gifts we were finally able to invested in a Vitamix! I am officially in love. If you have one, you understand. If you aren’t a proud owner, you need to head over to Costco to watch a demonstration and find out what all the hype is about. So for the my next (unofficial) challenge I am going to try and post at least one new Vitamix recipe each week!

Well, I did warn you it was gonna be a long one. Thanks for sticking around:) If you have gone through or are currently going through a food revolution I would love to hear all about it…

Leave a Reply

