T-6 Days to the Nike Women’s Marathon

I cannot believe I am into the last week of marathon training. Today, I ran my final “long” training run, a fantastic 8 miler! Unlike my first marathon, where I had never ran more than a 5k before the training plan began, I feel like I have been training for this race for the last year. I feel stronger mentally and physically and in general feel much more prepared to take on 26.2 miles this time around.

Nike Women's Marathon Countdown

**Here’s a look at the Nike Women’s Marathon webapp. It has some great information and it’s really getting me excited about this coming weekend. However, I have to be honest that the SeaWheeze app blows it out of the water!**

Ok, back the race week prep…. Now that I am into the final week  I am planning everything out for the next 5 days so once I board the plane on Saturday morning it all goes smoothly. Really it comes down to making a packing list and a solid grading/grad school/lesson planning/workout schedule. While I know you guys could care less about my hourly schedule I thought some marathon and half marathon newbies may be interested in what my packing list looks like…

Race day Packing List

When I set out my clothes for a race I go through everything from top to bottom

  • Shoes
  • Socks
  • lululemon Run Dart and Dash spandex + underwear
  • Tiffany’s blue tutu
  • Spi Belt (a gift given to me before my first marathon!)
  • Tank & a breathable long sleeve just in case it is  cold + sports bra
  • Team USA Nike jacket just in case it is raining
  • Sweaty Band headband
  • iPod & charger + headphones
  • Honey Stinger chews
  • A Goodwill throw away long sleeve shirt for pre-race waiting while it is cold
  • And I almost forget…Nike GPS Sportwatch…yea I would be freaking out a bit if I forget this piece of equipment!

SeaWheeze - Race Day - 2013

Here’s a look at some pre-race stuff from the SeaWheeze, most of my goodies were in the bag:) I hope that Nike gives us a sweet bag as well!  Actually, I am very interested to compare the Nike Women’s Marathon to the SeaWheeze Half Marathon. I feel like Nike and lululemon offer two of the largest women focused running events, so it will be fun to see how they can learn from each other (because you know I’ll be writing a review about it).

Anyways, I am off to bed. Another important thing to do during the week leading up to a big race is get adequate sleep because there is no way you are going to get a lot the night before. So sweet dreams all!

Leave a Reply

