Sweet Potato Cauliflower Soup

Vegan Recipe 8/52: Sweet Potato Cauliflower Soup

Sweet Potato Cauliflower Soup

Once again I am trying out a new blog, Allyson Kramer. I found this recipe while scouring Pinterest. One of my recent searches lead me to this list of vegan recipes, where I found this delicious soup.

What you need:

A bag of frozen cauliflower ( blog called for 1 big head of cauliflower)
3 to 4 medium peeled sweet potatoes diced into 1″ pieces
1 sweet onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
7 cups filtered water
Vegetable broth cube (or two)

What to do:

Step 1: Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees (if you are using frozen cauliflower, first microwave for 2 minutes to defrost).

Step 2: Roast cauliflower on a greased cookie sheet for 20 minutes.

Step 3: Dice sweet potatoes, onion, and garlic. Add veggies & water to a stock pot. Bring water to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer until potatoes are tender.

Step 4: Let cool. Then add roasted cauliflower and blend soup with a hand blender or Vitamix.

Step 5: Enjoy yummy soup with some bread or crackers.

Bonus Recipe: I topped this soup with a vegan sour cream. I was not super jazzed about the taste, it was a bit too bland for me. I had to add a couple more tablespoons of nutritional yeast and Braggs Amino. So I am still on a search to find a yummy vegan sour cream substitute.

Leave a Reply

